Project

Test planning for the “Future of the Frenke Valleys” project

The purpose of the test planning associated with the “Future of the Frenke Valleys” project is to establish a basis for a common development strategy. As one of three appointed teams, EBP has drafted a concept and specific proposals for regional development.

The various municipalities of the two Frenke Valleys in the Canton of Basel Country face major challenges relating to their present and future development, challenges of the sort that are often best approached when communities join forces. These challenges include settlement development, the optimal use of commercial zones, transportation and infrastructure planning and the development of recreational areas close to urban centers.

In order to be optimally prepared for the tasks they face, the participating municipalities have come together to launch the project known as the “Future of the Frenke Valleys” in the framework of a federally funded program initiated by the Swiss Federal Office for Spatial Development (ARE) and the State Secretariat for Economic Affairs (SECO). When it comes to approaching the development tasks, the municipalities are convinced that the region will only be able exploit its full potential and enhance its standing if they all come together and act in concert.

But what is the best way to establish and maintain a common basis? What development proposals are best suited to the Frenke Valleys? Who is to assume responsibility for reaching common goals? And what are the best ways to achieve these goals? After being commissioned to provide answers to these and other questions in the framework of test planning, EBP has formulated a development concept and strategy which is based on the linking of specific project types to flexible regional structures and a special forum for intensive regional dialogue. The focus of the approach is on securing a well-calibrated entry into a long-term, joint development process for the benefit of the entire region.

Projekt

Testplanung „Zukunft Frenkentäler“

Mit der Testplanung „Zukunft Frenkentäler“ soll die Basis für eine gemeinsame Entwicklungsstrategie gelegt werden. EBP als eines von drei Teams erarbeitet dazu Vorstellungen zur zukünftigen Entwicklung und gibt Ideen und Hinweise zum weiteren Prozess in der Region.

Die Gemeinden der Frenkentäler im Kanton Basel-Landschaft stehen vor grossen Herausforderungen. Immer mehr Aufgaben erfordern heute und in Zukunft Absprachen und ein gemeinsames Vorgehen zwischen den Gemeinden. Dazu gehören unter anderem die Siedlungsentwicklung, die optimale Nutzung von Gewerbegebieten, die Verkehrs- und Infrastrukturplanung und die Entwicklung der Naherholungsgebiete.

Mit dem Projekt „Zukunft Frenkentäler“ im Rahmen der Modellvorhaben des Bundesamt für Raumentwicklung ARE und des Staatssekretariats für Wirtschaft Seco wollen die beteiligten Gemeinden einen wichtigen Schritt machen, um für die anstehenden Aufgaben gerüstet zu sein. Ein zentraler Gedanke steht dabei im Vordergrund: Nur mit einem gemeinsamen Denken und Handeln kann die Region stärker werden, ihre Potenziale besser nutzen und sich erfolgreich positionieren.

Aber wie kann eine gemeinsame Basis gestärkt werden? In welche Richtung sollen sich die Frenkentäler künftig entwickeln? Wo, wie und von wem gilt es anzusetzen, um einem gemeinsamen Ziel etappenweise näher zu kommen? Auf diese Fragen will der Beitrag von EBP im Rahmen der Testplanung mit einem Blick von aussen mögliche Antworten aufzeigen und Hinweise zum weiteren Vorgehen liefern. Er formuliert eine Entwicklungsperspektive und Strategie, welche auf eine Verbindung von konkreten thematischen Projekten mit flexiblen regionalen Strukturen und einem intensiven regionalen Dialog setzt. Der Ansatz legt den Hauptfokus darauf, den Einstieg in einen langfristigen gemeinsamen Prozess der Region zu unterstützen.