Project

Development of Barracks Site in Zurich

he barracks site in Zurich is to be transformed in the coming years into a highly accessible and lively location that accommodates a variety of public and private interests. In order to enable this, a site development plan was devised and used as a basis for the drafting of a master plan for the future development of the barracks site.

Owing to its central location and large size, the barracks site in Zurich will figure prominently in the future development of central Zurich. The City of Zurich’s cantonal police department is planning to relocate its offices to the new Police and Judiciary Centre at the former freight-yard site in 2020. This will free up a large part of the barracks site for redevelopment. In order to devise a strategy for the entire site as well as individual solutions for vacated properties, the Canton and the City of Zürich have initiated a project referred to as the "Zurich Barracks Site Future" project.

With the support of EBP, the Canton and the City of Zurich have completed a site development plan for the "Zurich Barracks Site Future" project that takes account of the needs of the district, the city and the canton. This work included carrying out a study to determine the feasibility of implementing structure-specific redevelopment concepts that were proposed in the context of public participation events as well as internal workshops attended by city and cantonal representatives. This process resulted in a master plan that shows how the barracks site is to be successively developed in the coming years.

EBP provided consulting services to its clients throughout the process, organised and moderated the internal workshops for city and cantonal representatives, managed the public participation events, oversaw the feasibility study and drafted the master plan for the future development of the barracks site in Zurich.

Picture Credits: Yvonne Rogenmoser, Zurich

Projekt

Masterplan Zukunft Kasernenareal Zürich

Das Kasernenareal Zürich soll sich in den nächsten Jahren zu einem lebendigen, möglichst allen zugänglichen Erholungs-, Begegnungs- und Arbeitsort entwickeln. Um dies zu ermöglichen, wurde eine Gebietsplanung durchgeführt und ein Masterplan für die Zukunft des Kasernenareals erarbeitet.

Das Kasernenareal Zürich ist aufgrund seiner zentralen Lage und seiner Grösse ein Schlüsselareal für die Entwicklung von Zürichs Innenstadt. Die Kantonspolizei Zürich beabsichtigt 2020 in das neue Polizei- und Justizzentrum (PJZ) auf dem ehemaligen Güterbahnhofareal einzuziehen. Damit wird ein Grossteil des Kasernenareals für neue Nutzungen frei. Um Lösungen für frei werdende Flächen bereit zu halten und eine Strategie für das Gesamtareal zu entwickeln, haben Kanton und Stadt das Projekt «Zukunft Kasernenareal Zürich» ins Leben gerufen.

Im Projekt «Zukunft Kasernenareal Zürich» führten Kanton und Stadt in Begleitung von EBP eine Gebietsplanung durch, in der die Bedürfnisse des Quartiers, der Stadt und des Kantons berücksichtigt wurden. In einer Machbarkeitsstudie wurden in den bestehenden Strukturen auf dem Kasernenareal die Umsetzbarkeit der Nutzungsbedürfnisse und -ideen, welche an öffentlichen Beteiligungsveranstaltungen und an verwaltungsinternen Workshops mit Stadt und Kanton erarbeitet wurden, überprüft. Das Resultat dieses Prozesses ist ein Masterplan. Der Masterplan zeigt auf, wie das Kasernenareal in den nächsten Jahren sukzessive weiterentwickelt werden soll.

EBP unterstützte die Auftraggeberschaft während des gesamten Prozesses, führte die verwaltungsinternen Workshops durch, begleitete die öffentlichen Beteiligungsveranstaltungen sowie die Machbarkeitsstudie und erstellte den Masterplan für die Zukunft des Kasernenareals Zürich.

Bildquelle: Yvonne Rogenmoser, Zürich