Project

Environmental and health assessment of polyurethane adhesives

The Swiss-based Purbond AG manufactures polyurethane-based, single-component adhesives for use in wood construction. EBP analyzed the environmental and health aspects of the company’s products and drafted a corresponding product information sheet for consumers.

Purbond AG has been manufacturing polyurethane-based, single-component adhesives for around 20 years. The Swiss company is a globally active system supplier to producers of load-bearing wooden elements such as composite, cross-laminated and solid walls, posts and beams.

Public awareness of environmental and health issues has increased significantly in recent years. In keeping with this trend, ever more consumers have submitted inquiries to Purbond AG to learn more in this respect about its products.

Working on behalf of Purbond AG, EBP compiled extensive information about the environmental and health aspects of PURBOND adhesives in an accessible product information sheet for the company’s customers. In addition to gathering the scientific data, we conducted interviews with prospective customers and other stakeholders in the wood construction sector concerning building quality issues and residents’ health in respect of treated wood products.

The wood adhesives that are used in the production of wooden, load-bearing building elements need to meet various structural, aesthetic, environmental and health specifications. As our analysis shows, PURBOND adhesives tick all the boxes, because they emit produce light-colored joins and emit no synthetic formaldehydes.

Projekt

Umwelt- und Gesundheits-Beurteilung von PUR-Klebstoffen

Die Purbond AG stellt Einkomponenten-Klebstoffe auf Basis von Polyurethan (PUR) für Holzbauteile her. EBP hat die Umwelt- und Gesundheitsaspekte analysiert und ein Informationsblatt für Kunden erstellt.

Die Purbond AG stellt seit rund 20 Jahren Einkomponenten-Klebstoffe auf Basis von Polyurethan (PUR) her. Die weltweit tätige Schweizer Firma tritt als Systemanbieter hauptsächlich für Produzenten von statisch tragenden Holzbauteilen wie Brettschichtholz (BSH), Brettsperrholz (BSP) und Konstruktionsvollholz (KVH) auf.

In den letzten Jahren sind Umwelt- und Gesundheitsaspekte immer mehr ins Zentrum des öffentlichen Bewusstseins gerückt. Kunden und interessierte Endverbraucher haben Purbond vermehrt um entsprechende Informationen über ihre Produkte angefragt.

EBP hat im Auftrag von Purbond die umfangreichen Informationen zu Umwelt und Gesundheit über die PURBOND-Klebstoffe zusammengestellt und in einem Informationsblatt für die Kunden verständlich und ansprechend aufbereitet. Um die Informationsbedürfnisse zu eruieren, haben wir mit potentiellen Kundinnen und Kunden und wichtigen Akteuren im Bereich des Holzbaus und der Wohnqualität von Holzwerkstoffen Interviews geführt.

Holzklebstoffe, welche für die Herstellung von statisch tragenden Holzbauteilen verwendet werden, müssen Anforderungen in Bezug auf verschiedene Bedürfnisse erfüllen: baustatische, ästhetische und solche bezüglich Umwelt und Gesundheit. Wie die Beurteilung zeigt, vereinen PURBOND-Klebstoffe die positiven Eigenschaften, da sie helle Fugen hinterlassen und kein künstlich erzeugtes Formaldehyd freisetzen.