Project

Rerouting of the Wynental and Suhrental Railway Line

The Wynental and Suhrental Railway (WSB) was assigned to occupy a separate rail line between Aarau and Suhr. Working on behalf of the Canton and the railway company, EBP drafted an environmental impact report, acted in the capacity of an environmental consultant to the developer and devised and implemented a monitoring concept to protect the aquatic environment in the vicinity of the site.

Prior to the completion of the project, WSB trains ran the nearly 2.5-mile stretch between Aarau and Suhr directly on or next to Buchserstrasse and Tramstrasse. In the interest of greater traffic safety, the WSB line was rerouted onto the former Swiss Federal Railways (SBB) rail line between Aarau and Suhr. In addition to enhanced safety, the relocation introduced other advantages such as a lower risk of traffic congestion, shorter WSB travel times and more convenient changing of trains between WSB and SBB at the new Suhr Railway Station.

The construction work begun in May 2008, with an estimated time to completion of two years. The track bed, the conductor lines and the signal systems needed to be revised to meet the new meter-gauge specifications. Moreover, various other structural measures along the stretch were needed, including the new construction of a train stop in Buchs and the construction of a new bridge across the Suhre River.

Once the new rail line was completed, the existing WSB track along Buchserstrasse and Tramstrasse was removed. The new WSB line and the new Suhr Railway Station were then scheduled to commence operation according to a new service schedule in December 2010.

Before work was started on the rail line, EBP carried out an environmental impact assessment and drafted the corresponding environmental impact report. The measures outlined in the report included the installation and operation of extensive water control structures and equipment, the circumvention of a groundwater protection zone and the proper removal of a large volume of excavated material. EBP also oversaw the proper implementation of these measures in the context of its environmental monitoring assignment.

Projekt

Eigentrassierung der Wynental- und Suhrental-Bahn

Die Wynental- und Suhrental-Bahn (WSB) erhält auf der Strecke zwischen Aarau und Suhr ein eigenes Trassee. EBP erstellte den Bericht zur Umweltverträglichkeit für dieses Projekt, stellte die Umweltbaubegleitung und erarbeitete das Gewässerüberwachungskonzept.

Bisher fuhr die Wynental- und Suhrental-Bahn (WSB) auf der knapp vier Kilometer langen Strecke zwischen Aarau und Suhr wie eine Strassenbahn direkt auf oder neben der Buchser- bzw. Tramstrasse. Um die Verkehrssicherheit auf der Strasse zu erhöhen, wird die WSB in Zukunft auf dem ehemaligen Trassee der SBB Strecke Aarau-Suhr verkehren. Dies bringt neben der Erhöhung der Sicherheit noch andere Vorteile mit sich: Das Staurisiko auf der Strasse wird geringer, die Fahrtzeiten mit der WSB werden kürzer und das Umsteigen zwischen WSB und SBB im neuen Bahnhof Suhr wird bequemer.

Die Bauarbeiten wurden im Mai 2008 aufgenommen und dauern voraussichtlich rund zwei Jahre. Das Trassee, die Fahrleitungen und Signalanlagen müssen auf die Anforderungen der Meterspur umgebaut werden. Zudem sind verschiedene weitere bauliche Massnahmen entlang der Strecke nötig wie der Neubau der Haltestelle in Buchs oder der Bau einer neuen Brücke über die Suhre.

Sobald das neue Trassee fertig gestellt ist, wird das bestehende WSB-Gleis entlang der Buchser- bzw. Tramstrasse rückgebaut. Spätestens auf den Fahrplanwechsel im Dezember 2010 werden das neue WSB-Trassee und der neu gestaltete Bahnhof Suhr in Betrieb genommen.

Bevor mit den Bauarbeiten entlang des Trassees begonnen wurde, hat EBP im Rahmen des Umweltverträglichkeitsberichts (UVB) die möglichen Auswirkungen des Vorhabens auf die Umwelt beurteilt. Insbesondere wurden umfangreiche Wasserhaltungsmassnahmen installiert und betrieben, eine Grundwasserschutzzone durchquert und grosse Mengen an belastetem Aushub entsorgt. Die korrekte Umsetzung dieser Massnahmen wurde im Rahmen der Umweltbaubegleitung von EBP überprüft.